via Daily Prompt: Hike

I have friends who like to go hiking but the very thought of it makes my bones ache and my lungs shrink back in terror.

About 5 years ago I went for a hike in Bray. My co-workers had been talking about it for months and how enjoyable it was. I decided to join in the 1.5 hour hike up the mountains from Bray to Greystones. I almost died. True story.bray-dublin

First of all we had to take the easier route because 2 mins into our very vertical hike up the mountain, I couldn’t breathe (asthma situation). How embarrassing! Then by the time we made it to Greystones, all I wanted was to curl up in a tank full of hot water and die slowly. That would have been heaven. Instead I had to sit through an hour of trying to eat chicken food at an organic vegetarian restaurant when all I wanted was a steak.

Lucky for me we took the train back to Dublin city instead of hiking and I never looked back again. I think there was an unspoken agreement between the organiser (fitness freak that he is) never to invite me ever again. We both remain very happy with the decision.the-happy-pear-greystones

