Winter and Pre-Winter. Both with generous lashings of rain.

While everybody is getting excited about Fall weather and talking about finally wearing layers and season appropriate colours, We here in the south of Ireland are silently grumbling about the fact that it’s been kinda like Fall since July.

You think I jest? Nah. For the past few years, Summer weather has been skippingirishweather Ireland entirely and visiting our neighbours up North instead. Seeing pictures of my friends in London wearing shorts and tank tops in June was the one thing guaranteed to bring up the green-eyed monster of envy as I sat in my sitting room with a blanket carefully tucked around me.

This ‘Summer’ of 2016 was the absolute worst. After waiting impatiently for the Sun to burst forth following (a very short) Spring, We were delighted to have a solid week of sunshine and warm(ish)weather in June. Then there was that slightly sunny week we also had in July. That’s it folks. Summer was officially over.

The bitterness is real people and I may never get over it. Bah humbug to Fall and all those stores already putting up Christmas decorations in early October.

Irish weather has made me a grinch.

